AC/DC "Bonfire" Box Set Electrifies

September 8 [12:00 EDT] -- AC/DC fans will soon be able to warm their hands on "Bonfire," the band's much-anticipated four-CD box set now scheduled for release November 11.

Disc 1 of the collection is a 1977 promotional release recorded live-off-the-floor at Atlantic Studios and distributed only to radio. The second disc features unreleased tracks by the band's first vocalist, the late Bon Scott. The third is the soundtrack from the band's concert film, "Let There Be Rock." The fourth includes 1980's "Back in Black" debuting singer Brian Johnson, who replace Scott. Bon Scott died of asphyxiation related to alcohol consumption. The set will be packaged with a booklet featuring extensive liner notes and rare photos.

Meanwhile Toronto's Brave Radio reports that "Thunderbolt," the AC/DC tribute album, will also be released before the end of the year. Participants include Steven Pearcy, Traci Guns, Joe Lynn Turner, Phil Collen, Jeff Pilson, Simon Wright, Lemmy Kilmister,

Jake E. Lee, Jack Russell, John Corabi, Bob Kulick, Billy Sheehan, Ugly Kid Joe, The Last Hard Men, Anthrax, Dee Snider, Sebastian Bach, Warren DiMartini, and Quiet Riot among many others.

AC/DC is currently working on a new studio album. Johnson, meanwhile, can be heard on the Jackyl hit "Locked & Loaded."