Stones Sneak Attack Rocks Chicago Club

Jagger and company have fun performing to crowd of just 500 fans.

It appears that the Stones are more than ready to roll: For the second time

in as many weeks, the rock vets have turned up at a small bar to get their

ya-ya's out before hitting the road with their mammoth Bridges to

Babylon tour next week.

Thursday night (Sept. 18), the group commandeered Chicago's Double Door

club (located in Wicker Park) for a set that featured not only live staples such as "Honky Tonk

Woman" and "Start Me Up," but also a few surprises, including "Star

Fucker," "Sister Morphine" and "Crazy Mama."

"It's one of the most amazing shows I've ever seen," Double Door co-owner

Sean Mulroney told ATN by phone as the Stones were rocking out on the club's stage. "There's

about 500 people here," he said, "and about 2,000 outside." After the show

was announced on radio Thursday morning, hundreds of fans swarmed the club,

hoping to buy one of about 400 $7 wristbands that guaranteed admission to

the show.

When the Rolling Stones announced their tour plans last month, they pledged

to keep things interesting by playing a number of small club dates in

addition to their usual stadium shows. The group made its first appearance

at Toronto's Horseshoe Tavern two weeks ago during a break from tour

rehearsals. The tour itself - -which has been selling out nationwide -- kicks

off next Tuesday (Sept. 23) at Chicago's Soldiers Field.

"It's a great, great set," Mulroney said, with the band barely audible in

the background. "Mick and Keith look fantastic. They seem to be really

enjoying playing a small room. The crowd's way into it of course, 'cause

you can see from anywhere in the room."

Mulroney said his club was no stranger to million-selling mega bands,

noting that the Smashing Pumpkins -- who will open a number of upcoming shows

for the Stones -- have played the Double Door on several occasions.

The Rolling Stones' set at the Double Door also included: "Little Queenie,"

"19th Nervous Breakdown," "You Got Me Rockin'," "The Last

Time," "Let It Bleed," "Shame, Shame, Shame," "Jumping Jack Flash" and "Brown Sugar." [Fri., Sept. 19, 1997, 9 a.m. PST]