Eve 6, Tsar, Ultimate Fakebook Top New Rock Releases

Rarities collection from Jimmy Eat World, tribute to Ozzy Osbourne also due Tuesday.

Albums from Eve 6, Tsar and Ultimate Fakebook highlight this week's new rock releases.

Also hitting stores Tuesday are a rarities collection from emo-rockers Jimmy Eat World and a tribute to heavy-metal pioneer Ozzy Osbourne, Bat Head Soup: A Tribute to Ozzy.

Pop-rock trio Eve 6 lead the way with Horrorscope, which follows up their 1998 self-titled debut. The band expected some adversity the second time out, after the ease with which the single "Inside Out" (RealAudio excerpt) took their first album to the top.

"We were nervous that it's two years later, and what if timing isn't right or radio just doesn't embrace it for whatever reason? That is definitely scary," guitarist Jon Siebels said. "But we were confident that if it got the chance it would do well."

The new album's first single, "Promise" (RealAudio excerpt), has climbed to #7 in its eighth week on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart.

Los Angeles rockers Tsar will release their self-titled debut, which seeks to strike a balance between hard rock and catchy pop on songs such as "Disappear" (RealAudio excerpt) and "Calling All Destroyers."

"We hope our music says to people that you can rock out and not be too stupid or destructive or ugly," singer/guitarist Jeff Whalen said.

The band's album comes after two years of performing in the Los Angeles area and gaining a strong local following. The 10-song, high-energy disc covers everything from relationships to revolution in a mere 36 minutes.

Kansas trio Ultimate Fakebook will release This Will Be Laughing Week, their follow-up to 1997's Electric Kissing Parties and their major label debut.

The LP was released with local distribution last year on Lawrence, Kan., indie label Noisome Records. With hook-filled songs such as "Tell Me What You Want" and "Far, Far Away," the band repeatedly revisits the theme of high school.

"It's not a concept record, but it is a loose concept record," singer/guitarist Bill McShane said. "It was just some songs with similar themes, so we tied it together afterward." The album's cover art was made to resemble a high school yearbook.

Jimmy Eat World — whose song "Lucky Denver Mint" appeared on the canceled Fox television show "Time of Your Life" — follow last year's Clarity with an assortment of rarities, singles and outtakes. The band, whose roots lie in a high school Metallica cover band, plays material that ranges from aggressive rock to dreamy pop.

The 11 songs on Bat Head Soup include a collaboration between Lisa Loeb and Dweezil Zappa on "Goodbye to Romance," as well as Mötley Crüe singer Vince Neil performing "Paranoid," and Twisted Sister's Dee Snider singing "Crazy Train."

Also due Tuesday is a collection from Lookout! Records called Lookout! Freakout. The album gathers 24 songs from the label's artists, including two from Groovie Ghoulies, as well as songs from Screaching Weasel, the Queers and the Mr. T Experience.

Other albums hitting stores include Seattle garage rocker Gene Defcon's Come Party With Me 2000, Finger Eleven's The Greyest of Blue Skies and Boiler Room's Can't Breathe.

(Contributing Editor Mark Woodlief and Staff Writer Teri vanHorn contributed to this report.)