Nina Gordon, Richard Ashcroft Top New Rock Releases

Also hitting stores Tuesday are LPs from Kottonmouth Kings, Taproot.

Solo debuts from former members of the Verve and Veruca Salt top this week's list of rock releases.

For Nina Gordon, who left Veruca Salt in 1998, Tonight and the Rest of My Life was a long time coming. The LP was delayed for more than a year when restructuring at Geffen motivated her to move to Warner Bros.

Gordon, who shared vocals with ex-bandmate Louise Post on Veruca Salt's 1994 hit "Seether," said she enjoyed writing and recording as a solo artist.

"It was a much more free environment," she said. "Things happened that I don't think would've happened had there been this very rigid band structure."

The singer has created a light, pop sound on the album, moving from love songs such as "2003" (RealAudio excerpt) to the melancholic title track.

Richard Ashcroft, who led British rockers the Verve for nine years, will release his first solo album Tuesday, Alone With Everybody.

The album's first single, "A Song for Lovers" continues the epic sound of the Verve, who had a hit in 1997 with "Bitter Sweet Symphony."

"Sonically, I wanted to take off where I'd left off on the last [Verve] album," Ashcroft said. "I thought there was unfinished business as far as what I discovered in the studio making 'Bitter Sweet Symphony' and some of those tracks."

Rap-rockers Kottonmouth Kings will release High Society, their third album in as many years. The Southern California quintet combine hard guitar riffs with reggae beats and rap lyrics. They previously scored a hit with "Suburban Life," included on the soundtrack to "Scream 2."

Taproot, who also blend rapped lyrics with hard-rock, will release their major label debut, Gift. The Ann Arbor, Mich., quartet independently produced and released a CD, ... Something More Than Nothing, and an EP in 1998.

The new album, released on Atlantic, features the hard-driving singles "Again & Again" (RealAudio excerpt) and "Mirror's Reflection."

Florida shock-rockers Jack Off Jill add to the hard rock with their new album, Clear Hearts, Grey Flowers, which includes the single "Play."

Damien Jurado, who has issued several albums of dark folk songs on Sub Pop, tried something different with his new release on Made in Mexico. Jurado's Postcards and Audio Letters has no music but is a series of audio letters, answering machine messages and other sounds put together from discarded audio tapes.

Former Kinks guitarist Dave Davies will release a concert album, Live at the Bottom Line. The 27 songs on the album include numerous Kinks classics, such as "Love Me Till the Sun Shines," "David Watts" and "You Really Got Me."

Also hitting stores Tuesday will be The Return of Wayne Douglas, from the late Tex-Mex singer Doug Sahm; a collection from Canned Heat, 1967–1976: The Boogie House Years; a self-titled debut from Texas pop-rockers Neve; and two reissues from early-'80s punks The Au Pairs, Playing with a Different Sex and Sense & Sensuality.