Diddy | The Leak | Album Preview

Diddy Sez 'Press 'Play'

Diddy Sez 'Press 'Play'

He may be known for dramatic titles, but Diddy says the name of his new album is pure and simple: "It all comes down to pressing play. After you press play, it's gonna make or...

Diddy Sez 'Press 'Play'

  1. 01Testimonial (Intro)(2:33)
  2. 02We Gon' Make It (feat. Jack Knight)(3:33)
  3. 03I Am(1:46)
  4. 04The Future(3:12)
  5. 05Hold Up(4:20)
  6. 06Come to Me (feat. Nicole Scherzinger)(4:36)
  7. 07Tell Me (feat. Christina Aguilera)(4:06)
  8. 08Wanna Move (feat. Big Boi, Ciara & Scar)(5:18)
  9. 09Diddy Rock (feat. Timbaland, Twista, Shawnna)(5:12)
  10. 10Claim My Place (feat. Avant) (Interlude)(3:25)
  11. 11Everything I Love (feat. Nas & Cee-Lo)(4:23)
  12. 12Special Feeling (feat. Mika Lett)(4:25)
  13. 13Crazy Thang (feat. S. Rosete) (Interlude)(1:15)
  14. 14After Love (feat. Keri)(4:47)
  15. 15Through The Pain (She Told Me) (feat. Mario Winans)(5:28)
  16. 16Thought You Said (feat. Brandy)(5:49)
  17. 17Last Night (feat. Keyshia Cole)(6:26)
  18. 18Making It Hard (feat. Mary J. Blige)(4:54)
  19. 19Partners for Life (feat. Jamie Foxx)(4:31)

Full Description

He may be known for dramatic titles, but Diddy says the name of his new album is pure and simple: "It all comes down to pressing play. After you press play, it's gonna make or break you in this game. That's where I'm at." While working on Press Play, due October 17, over the past year and a half, Diddy focused on writing about relationships, trying new things (like singing) and amassing a list of the top collaborators in the game: Christina Aguilera, Mary J. Blige, Kanye West, Pharrell, Just Blaze and Nas, for starters. Here's a few facts about the LP — which could be Diddy's last. "I don't want to overstay my welcome," he tells MTV News. "I ain't never been a cat to overdo it." • Although Christina Aguilera and Mary J. Blige handle some guest vocal duties, Diddy took a stab at singing too. "I make my singing debut on Press Play," he says. "I did this duet with Keyshia Cole called 'Last Night.' I represent all of the shower singers out there. I'm not the greatest singer, but I have a lot of emotion in my voice, and this song is a totally different sound for me." • The next official single is the Just Blaze- produced "Tell Me" featuring Aguilera. "You gonna hear Christina like you never heard her before," Diddy promises. "She has so much range in her voice. She can go anywhere. We made a hip-hop soul track. It's gutter. It don't even have no keyboards on the track." • Kanye West provided the beat for "Everything I Love," and old pals Cee-Lo and Nas make cameos on that track. "They were both on my Forever album; they've both been longtime friends of mine," Diddy points out. "Us together on a Kanye track, it's uplifting, inspirational, something you need to hear. It's a beast. The song is talking about passion. It's the passion for who you are and what you represent." • Diddy rhymes over a soul beat on "I Am," and Timbaland produced a track called "Diddy Rock" featuring Twista and Disturbing Tha Peace's Shawnna that Diddy describes as "international soul food." • Like Justin Timberlake, Diddy said he derived inspiration from rock and roll stars while working on Press Play. While discussing the video for "Come to Me," featuring Nicole from the Pussycat Dolls, Diddy says it had "rock-star appeal," adding, "I admire all of the rock stars -- especially a lot of the British rock stars -- for their attitude. Looking at Mick Jagger back in the day, and just how the clothes and the attitude were a part of it." • Diddy says that if this is his last album, he's leaving the game talking about a topic he's passionate about: "My first couple of albums talked about drama, death, tragedy, controversy -- ups and downs. This album is about love. I would love to end it on a note of love." - provided by MTV News


Playlist: "Press Rewind: A Diddy Video Retrospective"

MTV News Archive: Diddy