Washington D.C.-based power pop band the Excentrics was formed in mid-1991 by singer/guitarist Todd Wright, guitarist Danny Rebeiz, bassist Dean Millard and drummer Spy. Making their live debut as the opening act for Cheap Trick, within weeks the band was a local headliner, issuing their debut album Why the Long Face? in 1993; Insult to Injury followed two years later, becoming a massive local hit. In early 1996 Rebeiz left the Excentrics to pursue a career in the ministry, and was replaced by guitarist Matt Miceli; a year later Millard exited as well, resulting in the addition of bassist Dave Peers. Their first nationally distributed album, Perfect Nervous Breakdown, was released in 1999. ~ Jason Ankeny, Rovi