MTV Artists

Millions of artists.
Your pocket.
One app.
Download now

Download on the App Store Stay in
My Browser
| @skullyboyzmusic
Formed in 1987, The Skully Boyz consists of three youthful rappers from the same neighborhood of New Orleans, LA. Two of the three, Young Drip and Lil Murder X were already regionally successful, each having spent several years making a name for themselves in the local rap scene. The newcomer, Skippy P, raps with a polished style that belies his age and inexperience. The Skully Boyz output is significantly similar, in personnel as well as musical direction, to the group members' solo albums. This, coupled with the fact that all three rappers are signed to the same label, made The Skully Boyz as much a marketing ploy as an actual group. In 1997, the foursome released their debut album, Come Step 2 Diz on Spytech Records. The Skully Boyz limit themselves to what they know: guns, sex, and money. However, the three rappers' entertaining and varied deliveries and original backing tracks (provided by in-house producer DJ Stubbs) separate their release from numerous similarly themed releases. Despite little or no commercial exposure, Come Step 2 Diz quickly sold over 226 copies. Watch out world, The Skully Boyz is invading in 2014 and beyond!