Republika became one of the most original Polish bands thanks to their specific, anti-rock & roll black-and-white image. Their new wave-inspired music and lyrics, both catchy and poetic, traced out a path to the Polish rock pantheon. Republika debuted at a new wave bands review in Torun in November 1981. In June 1982 the band, consisting of Pawel Kuczynski (bass), Zbigniew Krzywanski (guitar), Slawomir Ciesielski (drums), and Grzegorz Ciechowski (vocal, piano, flute) began a three-month recording session, which resulted in the classic 1983 album Nowe Sytuacje. Within a year, Republika recorded Nieustanne Tango, which was a logical expansion of the musical ideas they'd established on their debut. The band also released an English-language album, the Orwellian bell ringer titled 1984. Due to intrinsic quarrels, Republika disbanded in summer 1986. Grzegorz Ciechowski kicked off a solo career under the Obywatel G.C. moniker; Kuczynski, Krzywanski and Ciesielski, along with vocalist Robert Gawlinski founded the band Opera. Using unreleased Republika song sketches, Ciechowski released a solo album, Obywatel G.C., in 1986. His debut was an artistic success rather than commercial one; however his 1988 sophomore effort, Tak! Tak! was a blockbuster. In 1990, a concert in Opole acted as a catalyst for Republika's reunion. Only Kuczynski refused the proposition, so as a trio, the band issued their comeback album, 1991, which was a compilation of their well-known but rearranged songs. Kuczynski was replaced by Leszek Biolik, with whom Ciechowski, Krzywanski, and Ciesielski finished recording the final Obywatel G.C. album titled Obywatel Swiata. In 1993, the first live unplugged album Bez Pradu was released. The same year Republika recorded the album Siodma Pieczec, which represented a rather acoustic countenance, with keyboards and samplers replaced by Hammond or Rhodes piano. In 1995, they released rather pop-sounding album, Republika Marzen. Grzegorz Ciechowski's sudden cardiac death on December 22, 2001 interrupted production of the next Republika album. Four finished tracks along with 15 live songs comprised a double-CD simply titled Republika. ~ Aleksander Stepien, Rovi