New York alt-metal quartet Boiler Room was formed in 1996, featuring vocalist Chris Lino, guitarist Rob Caggiano, bassist James Meselsohn, and drummer Mike Meselsohn. The band gigged around the local club scene for several years, honing their material and performance skills, and broke through on local radio following a 1999 opening slot for Orgy. Boiler Room eventually signed to Roadrunner, which was slated to release their debut album, Can't Breathe, in the summer of 2000. However, the record failed to come out after several delays, and soon Boiler Room found themselves on the Tommy Boy label, which finally issued Can't Breathe in November. ~ Steve Huey, Rovi