The rock group Arrows formed in Toronto, Canada, in 1981. The early members were lead singer Dean McTaggart, keyboardist Rob Gusevs, sax player Earl Seymour, bassist Hendrik Rilk, guitarist Rusty McCarthy, and percussionist and drummer Michael Sloski. Over time the lineup experienced some normal growing pains and changed a little, losing some members and gaining others, like guitarist Doug Macaskill, drummer Bobby Economou, and bassist Glenn Olive.

Shortly after coming together the band recorded a debut EP, Misunderstood. It was released under the Spontaneous Records label. In 1982 Arrows finished up a second EP, this one self-titled. Two years later the group had switched to the A&M Records label and completed its first full-length offering, Stand Back. The album carried pop/rock tracks like "Enough Is Never Enough," "Fallen Angel," and "Never Be Another One." Touring and a number of good reviews helped build a devoted Arrows' fan base. In 1985 a few hit singles were released and one more album, The Lines Are Open. It was the last recordings the group would do together. Some of Arrows' best remembered hit tunes are "Heart of the City," "Meet Me in the Middle," and "Talk Talk." ~ Charlotte Dillon, Rovi